TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR COUNTY TREASURERS

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)

Ohio law requires various public financial officials to receive continuing training in the investment and management of public finances.  This law was passed in the wake of a financial scandal involving investment losses by local governments that occurred in 1994.  To prevent a repeat of those problems, the new training requirements were imposed.

County treasurers have different continuing education requirements than other subdivision treasurers [link to other guidance].  For guidance about these requirements and how they apply to you and others, please review the following “Frequently Asked Questions” (FAQ).

Q: I am a new county treasurer.  What are the continuing education requirements?
A: Newly elected county treasurers must take initial training between December 1 and the time they take office, which ordinarily would be the first Monday of September next following the person’s election to county treasurer.  The new treasurer must take 13 hours of education approved by the auditor of state on governmental accounting and portfolio reporting and compliance, and 13 hours approved by the treasurer of state on investments and cash management.
Q: After a year in office, what are the continuing education requirements for county treasurers?
A: County treasurers must take 24 hours of continuing education every two calendar years after the first year in office.  The 24 hours of continuing education must be composed of 12 hours from the treasurer of state (CPIM) and 12 hours from the auditor of state.
Q: Where can county treasurers receive the required training?
A: The treasurer of state training is available through the Center for Public Investment Management (CPIM).  The auditor of state training is available through the County Treasurers Association of Ohio.   
Q. What happens if I do not complete the continuing education requirements?

A. A county treasurer that does not meet the continuing education requirements is only permitted to invest in the following:

· STAR Ohio;

· No-load money market mutual funds pursuant to Revised Code § 135.35(A)(5);

· Time certificates of deposit pursuant to Revised Code § 135.35(A)(6); or

· Savings or deposits accounts pursuant to Revised Code § 135.35(A)(6).

If a county treasurer fails to complete the continuing education requirements and invests in any other types of investments other than the four categories listed above, the county prosecutor is required to petition the court of common pleas to revoke the treasurer's authority to invest county funds and manage the county’s investment portfolio.

Q. What if I hire outside investment managers?


A. You are still required to meet the continuing education requirements.  Also, outside investment managers must sign the county investment policy. See Revised Code §135.35(K)(1).
