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Minimum Wage and Minor Labor 
Laws

Bureau of Wage and Hour Administration 

Updated January 2013

The Ohio Minimum Wage

• Effective January 1, 2013, Ohio Minimum Wage is 
$7.85 an hour.
– Tipped employees; at least ½ the minimum wage ($3.93) plus 

tips.

– This amount paid by the employer plus tips received must be 
equal to or greater than the minimum wage for all hours 
worked. 

• Regulations outlined in Ohio Constitution
– Section 34a of Article II 

– Amounts adjusted annually. 

– Calculated in Sept. to take effect the following Jan. 1st.  

Exceptions to Ohio Minimum Wage

• Businesses: less than $288,000.00 gross annual 
revenue pay Federal Minimum Wage

• Employees under 16 years old:  at least Federal 
Minimum Wage

• Federal Minimum Wage currently $7.25 per hour
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Employer Record Keeping Requirements

• Keep records at least three years

• Must be available for transcription & inspection by 
Division

• Must include:
A. Name

B. Address

C. Occupation

D. Rate of Pay

E. Hours worked each day and each work week
F. Amount paid each pay period

• Records must be made available without charge to the 
employee or representative of the employee.

Employer Minor Record Keeping 
Requirements

• In Addition to Records for All Employees an Employer 
Must keep the following records pertaining to Minors:

A. Work Permit

Obtained through the Local School District

B. Wage Agreement

Listing the Wages to be Paid to the Minor

C. Record of Breaks

Showing the Starting and Stopping Time

D. List of Minor Employed in a conspicuous place 
E. Minor Labor Law Poster

Potential Damages

• Deductions taken for breakages, damages and or 
failure to comply with work rules can not reduce 
employee pay below the minimum wage for all working 
hours. 

• Deductions may NOT be taken from a minor for 
shortages, negligence, breakage, incompetence, or 
inability to perform work.

• Failure to pay at least Minimum Wage for all hours 
worked may result in the back wages due plus 
damages calculated at two times the amount of back 
wages.
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Individuals Exempt from Minimum Wage

• Employees of a solely family-owned & operated business who are 
family members of the owner

• Employee of the United States Government

• Baby-sitter in the employer’s home, live-in companion to a sick, 
convalescing, or elderly person & principal duties do not include 
housekeeping.

• Outside salesman compensated by commissions or in a bona fide 
executive, administrative, or professional capacity, or computer 
professional.

Minors Exempt from Minor Labor Law
• Students participating in a vocational program

• Minors participating in a play, pageant, or concert

• Participation without remuneration of a minor and with the consent of 
the parent or guardian in a performance given by a church, school or 
academy

• Minors employed by their parents in occupations other than those 
prohibited

• Minors engaged in the delivery of newspapers to consumers

• Minors who have received a high school diploma

• Minors who are currently heads of households or parents contributing 
to the support of their children

• Minor engaged in lawn mowing and snow shoveling

• Minors in agriculture employment in connection with family farms

• Students participating in a program to serve as precinct officers

Overtime ORC 4111.03

• Employer shall pay overtime at a rate of one and one-
half times the employee’s wage rate for hours in 
excess of forty in one work week, except for employers 
grossing less than $150,000.00 per year.

• Hospitals and Nursing Homes are permitted time and 
one-half in excess of eighty hours in a two week period 
and also in excess of eight hours a day.
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Minor Labor Law ORC 4109

Employment hours for Minor Employees

• 16 & 17 May not work past 11:00 p.m. on any night 
followed by a school day

• 14 & 15 May not work past 7:00 p.m. when school is in 
session and 9:00 p.m. when school is not in session.

• 14 & 15 May not work more than 3 hours per day and 
18 hours per week when school is in session

• 14 & 15 May not work more than 8 hours per day and 
40 hours per week when school is not in session.

Prohibited Occupation for ALL Minors

• Driving a Motor Vehicle (some exceptions may apply)

• Meat Slicers

• Power-driven bakery machines

• Roofing

• Excavation

• Work in connection with Chemicals

• Power paper machines

Prohibited Occupation for 14 & 15 Year Old 
Minors

• Power-driven machines

• Construction

• Cooking and Baking (except for lunch counters, snack 
bars, cafeteria serving counters)

• Gasoline Service in connection with pits, rack or lifting 
apparatus

• Warehouse work

• Work in freezers and meat coolers

• Any manufacturing occupation
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Thank You

Contact Information

Jackie Clark, 
Wage and Hour Investigator Supervisor

Ohio Department of Commerce
Bureau of Wage and Hour

P.O. Box 4009
6606 Tussing Road 

Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068-9009
614-728-5019

Jackie.Clark@com.ohio.gov


