Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Bay Village City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Bellevue City School District (Huron County)
  • Blanchester Local School District (Clinton County)
  • Deer Park Community City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Defiance City School District (Defiance County)
  • East Clinton Local School District (Clinton County)
  • Hope Academy Northwest Campus (Cuyahoga County)
  • Lakewood City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Lynchburg-Clay Local School District (Highland County)
  • Marlington Local School District (Stark County)
  • North Dayton School of Discovery (Montgomery County)
  • Northridge Local School District (Montgomery County)
  • Ohio Virtual Academy (Lucas County)
  • Portage Lakes Career Center (Summit County)
  • Riverside Community School, Inc. (Hamilton County)
  • South Euclid-Lyndhurst City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Tri-County North Local School District (Portage County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    o Ethics referrals
    o Questioned costs less than $10,000
    o Lack of timely report submission
    o Reconciliation
    o Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    o Findings for recovery less than $100
    o Public meetings or public records

Full copies of these audits are available online.


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,600 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Press Secretary