Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Ashland County-West Holmes Joint Vocational School District (Ashland County)
  • Bethel-Tate Local School District (Clermont County)
  • Buckeye Joint Vocational School District (Tuscarawas County)
  • Claymont City School District (Tuscarawas County)
  • Felicity-Franklin Local School District (Clermont County)
  • Gallia-Vinton Educational Service Center (Gallia County)
  • Mapleton Local School District (Ashland County)
  • Minerva Local School District (Stark County)
  • Norwood City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Oberlin City School District (Lorain County)
  • Ridgewood Local School District (Coshocton County)
  • Riverside Local School District (Logan County)
  • Trumbull Career and Technical Center (Trumbull County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    o Ethics referrals
    o Questioned costs less than $10,000
    o Lack of timely report submission
    o Reconciliation
    o Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    o Findings for recovery less than $100
    o Public meetings or public records

A full copy of these audits may be found online.


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,600 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Press Secretary