Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Greene County Vocational School District (Greene County)
  • Interactive Media and Construction, Inc. (Richland County)
  • Lorain County Joint Vocational School District (Lorain County)
  • Mansfield Elective Academy (Richland County)
  • Mansfield Enhancement Academy (Richland County)
  • New London Local School District (Huron County)
  • Pleasant Community Academy (Marion County)
  • Pleasant Education Academy (Marion County)
  • Pleasant Local School District (Marion County)
  • Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments (Lucas County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    o Ethics referrals
    o Questioned costs less than $10,000
    o Lack of timely report submission
    o Reconciliation
    o Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    o Findings for recovery less than $100
    o Public meetings or public records

A full copy of these audits may be found online.


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,600 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Press Secretary