Auditor Faber Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

For Immediate Release

Monday, September 12, 2022

Columbus – Auditor of State Keith Faber is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports.

  • BORMA Employee Benefit Pool, Inc. (Defiance County)
  • City of Tiffin (Seneca County)
  • City of Waterville (Lucas County)
  • Zanesville Metropolitan Housing Authority (Muskingum County)
  • Adena Local School District (Ross County)
  • Bexley Community Improvement Corporation (Franklin County)
  • City of Cambridge (Guernsey County)
  • City of Oberlin (Lorain County)
  • City of Urbana (Champaign County)
  • Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority (Cuyahoga County)
  • East Clinton Local School District (Clinton County)
  • Portage County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Portage County)
  • Buckeye Joint County Insurance Council (Lawrence County)
  • City of Union (Montgomery County)
  • Powell Community Improvement Corporation (Delaware County)
  • Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority (Cuyahoga County)
  • Stark-Tuscarawas-Wayne Joint Solid Waste Management District (Tuscarawas County)
  • Western Brown Local School District (Brown County)
  • Summit County Land Reutilization Corporation (Summit County)
  • Ashtabula County Port Authority (Ashtabula County)
  • City of Willowick (Lake County)
  • Summit/Akron Solid Waste Management Authority (Summit County)
  • Twinsburg Community Improvement Corporation (Summit County)
  • City of Lyndhurst (Cuyahoga County)
  • City of the Village of Indian Hill (Hamilton County)
  • Butler County Port Authority (Butler County)
  • Delaware County Transportation Improvement District (Delaware County)
  • Metropolitan Park District of the Toledo Area (Lucas County)
  • South East Area Transit (Muskingum County)
  • Northmor Local School District (Morrow County)
  • City of Hudson (Summit County)
  • City of Ontario (Richland County)
  • City of Delphos (Allen County)
  • Stark County Area Vocational School District (Stark County)
  • Defiance County (Defiance County)
  • Village of St. Bernard (Hamilton County)

The Auditor’s office presents the Auditor of State Award to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit. Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office by the statutory due date, without extension, via the Hinkle System and in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weakness, significant deficiencies, Uniform Guidance (Single Audit) findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comment related to:
    • Ethics referrals 
    • Questioned costs less than the threshold per the Uniform Guidance
    • Lack of timely annual financial report submission 
    • Bank reconciliation issues 
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit in accordance with Uniform Guidance
    • Findings for recovery less than $500
    • Public meetings or public records issues
  • The entity has no other financial or other concerns

Full copies of these reports are available online.


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio is responsible for auditing more than 6,000 state and local government agencies. Under the direction of Auditor Keith Faber, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies, and promotes transparency in government.

Marc Kovac