Westshore Council of Governments Work Together to Save Taxpayer Dollars

Auditor Yost Presents Cities with Taxpayer Hero Award

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Ohio’s fiscal reality demands that governments get creative in how they maximize services for taxpayers while spending less. An example of local governments doing just that are the six communities in northeast Ohio that make up the Westshore Council of Governments: Westlake, Bay Village, Rocky River, North Olmsted, Lakewood and Fairview Park. Formed in 1971, these communities have been working together to save taxpayer dollars for more than 4 decades. Their success serves as a model for local governments considering regional cooperation.

As you see on skinnyOhio.org, sharing services can lead to greater efficiencies and lower costs for taxpayers to provide the services that are expected of our local governments. Shared services can be used in a variety of areas of government. The Westshore Council of Governments has had success in areas such as SWAT, central dispatch centers and cooperative purchasing. Four of the cities co-own a waste water treatment plant, as well as sharing the Rocky River Court System.

Most recently, to help the Westshore communities recover from the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, the Community Emergency Response Team came together. Currently, some members are working to create a central fire and EMS district.

On Wednesday, January 9, 2013, Auditor of State Dave Yost recognized the members of the Westshore Council of Governments with the Taxpayer Hero Award. The Taxpayer Hero Award was created by Auditor Yost to acknowledge the efforts of local government officials who demonstrate innovative ideas to cut costs and increase efficiency in their entities.