Press Release Ohio Auditor of State

Chagrin Falls Exempted Village Schools Receives Auditor of State Award with Distinction

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Columbus - A recent financial audit of the Chagrin Falls Exempted Village School District by Auditor of State Dave Yost’s office has returned a clean audit report. The Chagrin Falls Exempted Village School District’s excellent record keeping has earned it the Auditor of State Award with Distinction.

Auditor of State Award with Distinction

Left: Superintendent William Koons, Right: Treasurer/CFO Anne Spano

“Taxpayers expect accurate financial records from their schools,” Auditor Yost said. “The Chagrin Falls Exempted Village School District’s dedication to accountability is evident, and I am proud to present this award to the district.”

The Auditor of State Award with Distinction is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit. Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in the form of a CAFR (Comprehensive Annual Financial Report);

  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;

  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records

The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,600 state and local government agencies. Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.


Carrie Bartunek
Press Secretary
(614) 728-7198