Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Buckeye Local School District (Jefferson County)
  • Girard City School District (Trumbull County)
  • Lima-Allen County Regional Planning Commission (Allen County)
  • Massillon Digital Academy (Stark County)
  • Mt. Healthy City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Mt. Healthy Preparatory and Fitness Academy (Hamilton County)
  • Riverside Local School District (Lake County)
  • Shared Services Council of Governments (Franklin County)
  • STAR Academy of Toledo (Lucas County)
  • South Scioto Academy (Franklin County)
  • West Branch Local School District (Mahoning County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    o Ethics referrals
    o Questioned costs less than $10,000
    o Lack of timely report submission
    o Reconciliation
    o Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    o Findings for recovery less than $100
    o Public meetings or public records

A full copy of these audits may be found online.


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,600 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Press Secretary