Press Release Ohio Auditor of State

Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Auburn Vocational School District (Lake County)
  • Bellbrook-Sugarcreek Local School District (Greene County) 
  • Brecksville-Broadview Heights City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Clinton-Massie Local School District (Clinton County)
  • East Holmes Local School District (Holmes County)
  • Four County Career Center (Henry County)
  • Franklin City School District (Warren County)
  • Hillsdale Local School District (Ashland County)
  • Mansfield Community Elementary (Richland County)
  • Marysville Exempted Village School District (Union County)
  • Milford Exempted Village School District (Clermont County)
  • Troy City School District (Miami County)
  • West Carrollton City School District (Montgomery County)
  • West Muskingum Local School District (Muskingum County)
  • Youthbuild Columbus Community School (Franklin County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    o Ethics referrals
    o Questioned costs less than $10,000
    o Lack of timely report submission
    o Reconciliation
    o Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    o Findings for recovery less than $100
    o Public meetings or public records 
A full copy of these audits may be found online.


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,800 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Brittany Halpin
Press Secretary