Scioto Township Audit Identifies $4,669 in Overpayments

Thursday, December 31, 2015

Columbus – A series of payroll errors resulted in more than $4,600 in overpayments to Scioto Township (Ross County) trustees and its former fiscal officer, according to an audit released today by Auditor of State Dave Yost.  

“Scioto Township’s records are riddled with errors,” Auditor Yost said.  “Officials must adopt policies and procedures to correct these errors and make sure salaries are in line with the law.”

The Ohio Revised Code lists the rates at which township trustees and fiscal officers may be paid based on their annual budget. During 2012, Scioto Township trustees were entitled to annual compensation of $11,318, and the fiscal officer was entitled to $19,806. However, the fiscal officer improperly paid himself and the trustees an extra month’s pay. This resulted in an overpayment of $1,651 to himself and overpayments of $943 to each of the three trustees. 

During the period of January 1 through June 19, 2013, the township’s three trustees were entitled to annual compensation of $10,288, and the fiscal officer was entitled to $16,977 based on the township’s budget at that time. Due to an increase in the township’s budget in 2013, the trustees were entitled to annual compensation of $11,318 for the period of June 20, 2013 through December 31, 2013. The fiscal officer was entitled to $19,806, but he resigned in November 2013. 

However, the township paid township trustees and the fiscal officer at an incorrect rate for the period of January 1, 2013 through July 17, 2013. This resulted in overpayments in the amount of $483 each to Trustees Tom Straub and Paul Corcoran, and an overpayment of $1,334 to Fiscal Officer David May. In addition, Trustee John Wetzel was only paid for 11 months in 2013, resulting in an underpayment of $460.

The fiscal officer’s last check in the amount of $1,651 for November 2013 had not cleared the township’s bank as of December 31, 2014, and a stop order was placed on the check. 

Findings for recovery in the amount of $1,426 were issued against both Trustees Tom Straub and Paul Corcoran. Additionally, findings for recovery in the amounts of $483 and $1,334 were issued against Trustee John Wetzel and former Fiscal Officer David May, respectively. 

A full copy of this report may be accessed online.



The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,800 state and local government agencies. Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Brittany Halpin
Press Secretary