Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Ashtabula Area City School District (Ashtabula County)
  • Barnesville Exempted Village School District (Belmont County)
  • Brown Local School District (Carroll County)
  • Buckeye Online School for Success (Columbiana County)
  • Clay Local School District (Scioto County)
  • Federal Hocking Local School District (Athens County)
  • Foxfire High School (Muskingum County)
  • Grandview Heights City School District (Franklin County)
  • Greene County Vocational School District
  • Hillsdale Local School District (Ashland County)
  • Huntington Local School District (Ross County)
  • Mad River Local School District (Montgomery County)
  • Mansfield Metropolitan Housing Authority (Richland County)
  • Mariemont City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Marion Metropolitan Housing Authority (Marion County)
  • Miami Trace Local School District (Fayette County)
  • Phoenix Community Learning Center (Hamilton County)
  • Pickaway County Educational Service Center
  • Scioto Valley Local School District (Pike County)
  • Waterloo Local School District (Portage County)
  • Woodridge Local School District (Summit County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records 
  • No other financial or other concerns exist that involve eligible entity.

A full copy of these audits may be found online.




The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,800 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Director of Communications