$36,221 in Revoked Bonuses Still Owed to Columbus City Schools

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Columbus – Current and former Columbus City School District (Franklin County) employees still owe $36,221 in revoked bonuses, according to an audit released today by Auditor of State Dave Yost. However, the school district has recovered the majority of the $357,655 revoked in 2014.

“These employees have had almost a year and a half to pay back the bonuses that they didn’t deserve,” Auditor Yost said. “I’m glad to see the district has recovered the lion’s share of the funds, but it’s time for the remaining employees to hand over the rest.” 

During FY 2011, the school district issued bonuses to employees based on student results as part of its gainsharing program. However, a special audit of the district released by the Auditor of State’s office in January 2014 identified issues related to inaccurate student data. As a result, the district reevaluated the bonuses and revoked $357,655 of the total amount issued. 

The district has recovered $310,996 of the revoked amount using internal collection processes. Of the remaining $46,635 uncollected, $7,566 is currently being repaid by employees through repayment plans and/or monthly payroll deductions, and $22 is related to a deceased employee. The district has been unable to collect the remaining $39,047.

Findings for recovery in the total amount of $39,047 were issued against 81 current and former school district employees. Ten of those employees repaid a total of $2,531 during the course of the audit, and one has a repayment plan in place, leaving $36,221 still outstanding and owed to the district.

A full copy of this report may be accessed online.



The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,800 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Director of Communications