Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Allen County Metropolitan Housing Authority
  • Bethel Local School District (Miami County)
  • Columbiana County Career and Technology Center
  • Dawson-Bryant Local School District (Lawrence County)
  • Franklin Local Community School (Muskingum County)
  • Glass City Academy (Lucas County)
  • Hillsboro City School District (Highland County)
  • Jefferson Area Local School District (Ashtabula County)
  • Liberty Benton Local School District (Hancock County)
  • Liberty Union-Thurston Local School District (Fairfield County)
  • Louisville City School District (Stark County)
  • Madison Local School District (Richland County)
  • Maple Heights City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Miami East Local School District (Miami County)
  • Oberlin City School District (Lorain County)
  • Revere Local School District (Summit County)
  • TRECA Digital Academy (Marion County)
  • Wellsville Local School District (Columbiana County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records 
  • No other financial or other concerns exist that involve eligible entity.

A full copy of these audits may be found online.




The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,800 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Carrie Bartunek
Director of Communications