Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Cuyahoga Valley Career Center (Cuyahoga County)
  • Elyria Community School (Lorain County)
  • Lorain Community Elementary School (Lorain County)
  • Lorain Community Middle School (Lorain County)
  • Madison Community Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Miami Valley Career Technology Center (Montgomery County)
  • Nelsonville-York City School District (Athens County)
  • Old Brooklyn Community Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Old Brooklyn Community Middle School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Parma Community School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Reading Community City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Stockyard Community Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Warren County Career Center
  • Westpark Community Elementary School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Westpark Community Middle School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Westside Community School of the Arts (Cuyahoga County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records 
  • No other financial or other concerns exist that involve eligible entity.

A full copy of each report is available online.



The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,900 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Beth Gianforcaro
Press Secretary