Press Release Ohio Auditor of State

Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Area 10 Workforce Investment Board (Richland County)
  • Arts and College Preparatory Academy (Franklin County)
  • Bloomfield-Mespo Local School District (Trumbull County)
  • Butler County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Butler County)
  • Clinton Massie Local School District (Clinton County)
  • Columbiana County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Columbiana County)
  • Coshocton Opportunity School (Coshocton County)
  • Dayton Metropolitan Housing Authority (Montgomery County)
  • Early College Academy (Franklin County)
  • Eastland-Fairfield Career and Technical School (Franklin County)
  • Fairless Local School District (Stark County)
  • Gallipolis City School District (Gallia County)
  • Great Lakes Council of Governments (Cuyahoga County)
  • Interactive Media and Construction (Richland County)
  • Jefferson Health Plan (Jefferson County)
  • Kings Local School District (Warren County)
  • Lake County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Lake County)
  • Lorain County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Lorain County)
  • Marlington Local School District (Stark County)
  • Medina County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Medina County)
  • Oberlin City School District (Lorain County)
  • Paint Valley Local School District (Ross County)
  • Pickaway County Educational Service Center (Pickaway County)
  • Scioto Valley Local School District (Pike County)
  • South Point Local School District (Lawrence County)
  • Stark County Educational Service Center (Stark County)
  • St. Clairsville-Richland City School District (Belmont County)
  • Youngstown Metropolitan Housing Authority (Mahoning County)
  • Zanesville Community High School (Muskingum County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records 
  • No other financial or other concerns exist that involve eligible entity.

A full copy of each report is available online.



The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,900 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Beth Gianforcaro
Press Secretary