Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Bridges Community Academy (Seneca County)
  • Buckeye Central Local School District (Crawford County)
  • Butler County Educational Service Center
  • East Holmes Local School District (Holmes County)
  • Fremont City School District (Sandusky County)
  • Green Local School District (Summit County)
  • Kent City School District (Portage County)
  • Maritime Academy of Toledo (Lucas County)
  • New Boston Local School District (Scioto County)
  • Outreach Academy for Students with Disabilities (Cuyahoga County)
  • Richland County Regional Planning Commission
  • Riverside Local School District (Lake County)
  • Ross-Pike Educational Service District (Ross County)
  • Southeastern Local School District (Ross County)
  • Tri-Valley Local School District (Muskingum County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records 
  • No other financial or other concerns exist that involve eligible entity.

A full copy of each report is available online.



The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,900 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Beth Gianforcaro
Press Secretary