Auditor Yost Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Columbus – Auditor of State Dave Yost is pleased to announce that the following entities received the Auditor of State Award for their clean audit reports:

  • Belpre City School District (Washington County)
  • Bio-Med Science Academy STEM School (Portage County)
  • Brooke-Hancock-Jefferson Metropolitan Planning Commission (Jefferson County)
  • Caldwell Exempted Village School District (Noble County)
  • Cedar Cliff Local School District (Green County)
  • Deer Park Community City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Educational Service Center Council of Government (Franklin County)
  • Galion City School District (Crawford County)
  • Global Ambassadors Language Academy (Cuyahoga County)
  • Harrisburg Pike Community School (Franklin County)
  • Jefferson Area Local School District (Ashtabula County)
  • Lakeshore Intergenerational School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Loveland City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Manchester Local School District (Adams County)
  • Napoleon Area City School District (Henry County)
  • Near West Intergenerational School (Cuyahoga County)
  • North Olmsted City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Plain Local School District (Stark County)
  • Ridgewood Local School District (Coshocton County)
  • Talawanda School District (Butler County)
  • Union Local School District (Belmont County)
  • Wellington Exempted Village School District (Lorain County)

The Auditor of State Award is presented to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit.  Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file timely financial reports with the Auditor of State’s office in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weaknesses, significant deficiencies, Single Audit findings or questioned costs;
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comments related to:
    • Ethics referrals
    • Questioned costs less than $10,000
    • Lack of timely report submission
    • Reconciliation
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit
    • Findings for recovery less than $100
    • Public meetings or public records 
  • No other financial or other concerns exist that involve eligible entity.

A full copy of each report is available online.



The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,900 state and local government agencies.  Under the direction of Auditor Dave Yost, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies and promotes transparency in government.

Beth Gianforcaro
Press Secretary