Auditor Faber Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

For Immediate Release

Friday, October 13, 2023

COLUMBUS – Auditor of State Keith Faber is pleased to announce that the following entities received Auditor of State Awards in September for their clean audit reports:  

  • Ashland County (Ashland County)  
  • Conneaut Port Authority (Ashtabula County)  
  • City of St. Marys (Auglaize County)  
  • Village of East Palestine (Columbiana County)  
  • Northeast Ohio Public Energy Council (Cuyahoga County)  
  • City of University Heights (Cuyahoga County)  
  • City of Seven Hills (Cuyahoga County)  
  • Powell Community Improvement Corporation (Delaware County)  
  • Delaware County Transit Board (Delaware County)  
  • Fairfield Metropolitan Housing Authority (Fairfield  County)  
  • Geauga Metropolitan Housing Authority (Geauga County)  
  • City of Bellbrook (Greene County)  
  • Greene County Transit Board (Greene County)  
  • Holmes County (Holmes County)  
  • Lake Development Authority (Lake County)  
  • Ohio Digital Learning School (Lucas County)  
  • City of Canfield (Mahoning County)  
  • Monroe County (Monroe County)  
  • Trotwood Community Improvement Corporation (Montgomery County)  
  • Montgomery County Convention Facilities Authority  (Montgomery County)  
  • City of Zanesville (Muskingum County)  
  • Perry County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Perry County)  
  • Pickaway County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Pickaway County)  
  • Pike Metropolitan Housing Authority (Pike County)  
  • Sandusky County Land Reutilization Corporation (Sandusky County)  
  • City of Tiffin (Seneca County)  
  • Development Finance Authority of Summit County (Summit County)  
  • Boston Township- City of Cuyahoga Falls Joint Economic Development District (Summit County)  
  • City of Fairlawn (Summit County)  
  • Summit and Medina Workforce Area Council of Governments (Summit County)  
  • Stark-Tuscarawas-Wayne Joint Solid Waste Management District (Tuscarawas County)  
  • City of Marietta (Washington County)  
  • City of Bowling Green (Wood County)  
  • Wyandot Memorial Hospital (Wyandot County)  

The Auditor of State’s Office presents the awards to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit. Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:  

  • The entity must file financial reports with the Auditor of State’s Office by the statutory due date, without extension, via the Hinkle System and in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles);  
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weakness, significant deficiencies, Uniform Guidance (Single Audit) findings or questioned costs;  
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comment related to:
    • Ethics referrals   
    • Questioned costs less than the threshold per the Uniform Guidance  
    • Lack of timely annual financial report submission   
    • Bank reconciliation issues   
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit in accordance with Uniform Guidance  
    • Findings for recovery less than $500  
    • Public meetings or public records issues  
  • The entity has no other financial or other concerns  

Full copies of these reports are available online (ohioauditor.gov/auditsearch/Search.aspx).


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio is responsible for auditing more than 5,900 state and local government agencies. Under the direction of Auditor Keith Faber, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates, and prevents fraud in public agencies, and promotes transparency in government.

Public Affairs
Contact: Marc Kovac