Press Release Ohio Auditor of State

Auditor Faber Announces Auditor of State Award Recipients

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

COLUMBUS – Auditor of State Keith Faber is pleased to announce that the following entities received Auditor of State Awards in May for their clean audit reports:

  • Adams County/ Ohio Valley Local School District (Adams County)
  • Ashtabula Area City School District (Ashtabula County)
  • Butler County Metropolitan Housing Authority (Butler County)
  • Southwest Regional Water District (Butler County)
  • Felicity-Franklin Local School District (Clermont County)
  • Buckeye Online School for Success (Columbiana County)
  • Columbiana County Educational Service Center (Columbiana County)
  • Apex Academy (Cuyahoga County)
  • Cleveland Academy of Scholarship, Technology & Leadership Ent. (Cuyahoga County)
  • Cuyahoga Heights Local School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • North Shore High School (Cuyahoga County)
  • Olmsted Falls City School District (Cuyahoga County)
  • Pinnacle Academy (Cuyahoga County)
  • Liberty Union-Thurston Local School District (Fairfield County)
  • Central Ohio Risk Management Association Self Insurance Pool Inc. (Franklin County)
  • Franklinton High School (Franklin County)
  • Horizon Science Academy Elementary School (Franklin County)
  • Horizon Science Academy Primary (Franklin County)
  • Horizon Science Academy-Columbus Middle School (Franklin County)
  • International Academy of Columbus (Franklin County)
  • Metro Early College High School (Franklin County)
  • Zenith Academy (Franklin County)
  • Archbold Area Local School District (Fulton County)
  • Alliance Academy of Cincinnati (Hamilton County)
  • Horizon Science Academy-Cincinnati (Hamilton County)
  • Madeira City School District (Hamilton County)
  • Orion Academy (Hamilton County)
  • Liberty Benton Local School District (Hancock County)
  • Fairfield Local School District (Highland County)
  • Edison Local School District (Jefferson County)
  • Lorain County Joint Vocational School District (Lorain County)
  • Midview Local School District (Lorain County)
  • Autism Model School (Lucas County)
  • Bennett Venture Academy (Lucas County)
  • Discovery Academy (Lucas County)
  • Glass City Academy (Lucas County)
  • Lucas Transportation Improvement District (Lucas County)
  • Ohio Virtual Academy (Lucas County)
  • Wildwood Environmental Academy (Lucas County)
  • Winterfield Venture Academy (Lucas County)
  • Tolles Career & Technical Center (Madison County)
  • Jonathan Adler Local School District (Madison County)
  • London Metropolitan Housing Authority (Madison County)
  • Mahoning Columbiana Training Association (Mahoning County)
  • Mahoning County Career and Technical Center (Mahoning County)
  • Mahoning County High School (Mahoning County)
  • Stambaugh Charter Academy (Mahoning County)
  • Struthers City School District (Mahoning County)
  • Tri-Rivers Joint Vocational School District (Marion County)
  • Miami County Educational Service Center (Miami County)
  • Emerson Academy (Montgomery County)
  • Horizon Science Academy-Dayton (Montgomery County)
  • Miami Valley Academies (Montgomery County)
  • North Dayton School of Discovery (Montgomery County)
  • Pathway School of Discovery (Montgomery County)
  • Mid-East Career and Technology Centers (Muskingum County)
  • Waterloo Local School District (Portage County)
  • Manfield Metropolitan Housing Authority (Richland County)
  • Clyde-Green Springs Exempted Village School District (Sandusky County)
  • Sciotoville Community School (Scioto County)
  • Tiffin City School District (Seneca County)
  • Lake Local School District (Stark County)
  • Perry Local School District (Stark County)
  • Case Preparatory Academy (Summit County)
  • Coventry Local School District (Summit County)
  • Imagine Akron Academy (Summit County)
  • Revere Local School District (Summit County)
  • Summit Regional Health Care Consortium (Summit County)
  • Woodridge Local School District (Summit County)
  • Fairbanks Local School District (Union County)
  • Marietta City School District (Washington County)
  • Ohio Valley Employment Resource (Washington County)
  • Rittman Academy (Wayne County)

The Auditor of State’s Office presents the awards to local governments and school districts upon the completion of a financial audit. Entities that receive the award meet the following criteria of a “clean” audit report:

  • The entity must file financial reports with the Auditor of State’s Office by the statutory due date, without extension, via the Hinkle System and in accordance with GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles).
  • The audit report does not contain any findings for recovery, material citations, material weakness, significant deficiencies, Uniform Guidance (Single Audit) findings or questioned costs.
  • The entity’s management letter contains no comment related to:
    • Ethics referrals 
    • Questioned costs less than the threshold per the Uniform Guidance
    • Lack of timely annual financial report submission 
    • Bank reconciliation issues 
    • Failure to obtain a timely Single Audit in accordance with Uniform Guidance
    • Findings for recovery less than $500
    • Public meetings or public records issues
  • The entity has no other financial or other concerns

The full reports are available online via Search Audits (ohioauditor.gov/auditsearch/search.aspx).


The Auditor of State’s office, one of five independently elected statewide offices in Ohio, is responsible for auditing more than 5,900 state and local government agencies. Under the direction of Auditor Keith Faber, the office also provides financial services to local governments, investigates and prevents fraud in public agencies, and promotes transparency in government.

Public Affairs
Contact: Marc Kovac